Marxist Section council & committees2018-10-29T12:43:51+00:00

The Marxist Sociology Blog is a production of the Marxist Sociology Section of the American Sociological Association. It publishes short articles of theory, research and commentary from Marxists of all theoretical schools and academic disciplines. We conceive of marxist sociology in the broadest sense, spanning modern disciplines and covering economy, politics, culture, history.

The blog also hosts resources for ASA Marxist Section members, including news & announcements, lists of journals that publish Marxist scholarship, resources for education and pedagogy, and links to related websites.

Officers and Committees of the Section are listed below.


Chair: Tarique Niazi, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (2018-2019)

Chair-Elect: Allison Hurst, Oregon State University

Past Chair: Matt Vidal, Loughborough University London

Secretary-Treasurer: Paul Prew, Minnesota State University-Mankato (2017-2020)

Student Representative: Stephanie Baran, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (2017-2019)

Section Council

Crystal Jackson, John Jay College-City University of New York (2018-2021)

Lorna Zukas, National University (2018-2021)

Charles Pinderhughes, Essex County College  (2017-2020)

Michael Sukhov, Pacifica Radio (2017-2020)

Barbara Brents, University of Nevada, Las Vegas (2016-2019)

Brendan McQuade, SUNY-Cortland (2016-2019)

Standing Committees

Nominations Committee

To be determined.

Membership Committee

To be determined.

Media and Communications

See the Blog Editorial Team page.

Ad Hoc Committees

Committee on Awards

To be determined.

Awards Committees

Lifetime Achievement Committee

To be determined.

Paul Sweezy Marxist Sociology Book Award

To be determined.

Outstanding Marxist Sociology Article Award

To be determined.

Marxist Sociology Praxis Award

To be determined.

Albert Szymanski-T.R. Young/Critical Sociology Marxist Sociology Graduate Student Paper Award

To be determined.